GREAT Tech Awards Competition

GREAT Tech Awards Competition

IMA is a proud supporter of the ‘GREAT Tech Awards Competition 2015‘ organised by UKTI USA. Managing Director Nigel Taylor will be offering business development services and market entry advice to the lucky winners.


Nigel established IMA in 2003 following a career as a sales focused General Management where he led major Government PFI bids in the vehicle Leasing Industry. Throughout Nigel’s career he was constantly being asked to do things which neither he or his company had ever done before; accordingly, IMA has been established to support companies who experience the same issues Nigel faced during his own corporate career.


About the Competition


Twenty-four tech companies have been announced on the 30th of September as finalists for the UK government’s third annual GREAT Tech Awards. Danny Lopez, British Consul General to New York, announced the names at a reception at the British Residence in Manhattan today.


Representing the states of New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, and Massachusetts, these finalists are innovative companies in the US tech scene that aim to build an international presence, and are in the running to win a business development trip to the UK. The overall winners will be announced at the GREAT Tech Awards Gala on Thursday, 29 October 2015, in New York, and will fly to the UK during the week of 29 November 2015.


“The British government is focused on helping the best and brightest American tech companies to expand internationally, and the GREAT Tech Awards are a shining example of this commitment,” said Lopez. “Today’s finalists were selected from a field of over 145 dynamic firms across the Northeast US. With the UK as the top investment destination in Europe, it is an ideal platform for global growth, and I look forward to seeing these companies grow in the months and years to come.”


This summer, technology companies headquartered in New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and all six New England states were eligible to apply for one of seven award categories. The category finalists are: for Best of USA, ShopKeep, LiveIntent, and Noom Inc.; for CleanTech, Altaeros Energies, H2Sonics LLC, and Heads Up Display Inc.; EdTech, Elemental Path Inc., LightSail Education, and Tinybop Inc.; for FinTech, AlphaPoint, Hedgeable, and WorkFusion; for health, EpiBone, Inc., Behavorial Technology Group, and Celmatix; for Lifestyle, Baron Fig, iDevices, and; and for Media, Bounce Exchange, Elite Daily, and MAZ. An eighth category, Best of British, also has three finalists: Equivital, TransferWise, and Unruly.


An advisory board of industry influencers has chosen the finalists based on their potential for overseas growth and the innovation of their product or service. A separate judging panel will select the winners. Additionally, the Best of British Award will recognize the transatlantic growth of a British technology company that has successfully established an office in New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, or the New England area.

The US winners will receive a customized package that includes: a roundtrip flight to London provided by British Airways; five nights accommodation at Corinthia Hotel London; accountancy services from BDO, legal services from Fieldfisher, recruitment services from Propel Executive, real estate services from Knight Frank; business development services from sector specialists including Advice Cloud, Device Access UK, Durham Lane, Gateway Europe, International Management Answers, and MedTech Logistics; meetings with mentors and government officials; and attendance at the unBound Digital conference in London.


The award winners will be selected by a prestigious panel of judges including: Pete Cashmore, CEO & Founder of Mashable; Glenda Bailey OBE, Editor-in-Chief of Harper’s Bazaar and GREAT ambassador; Ignacio Isa Martin, Sales Director at British Airways North America; Michael Hayman, Co-founder of Seven Hills; Marco Mohwinckel, Global Head of Integrated Care Solutions at Janssen Healthcare Innovation; Gareth Jones, Co-founder and General Partner at FinTech Collective; Anant Agarwal, CEO of edX; and Thomas R. Burton III, Chair of the Energy Technology Practice at Mintz Levin.


To learn more about the GREAT Tech Awards, visit